R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: another newby quetions (monitors)  (Read 1882 times)

core

another newby quetions (monitors)
« on: February 07, 2006, 01:21:56 PM »

hey, as a lot of you have probably read,i'm just starting out with recording and asking a lot of questions.i'mtrying to get some stuff together with a realy low budget.so...
is it possible to use normal standard hi fi speakers for monitors?(i know it may be a dumb question or they may not be ideal but I don't have much choice,unless anyone knows some real cheap monitors!)
::kiteline::

compasspnt

Re: another newby quetions (monitors)
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2006, 01:42:32 PM »

Hi again Christian.

All good questions.

For your benefit, I am going to move this particular topic to the "Budget, Budget..." Forum.

I think you will probably get more answers there!

Good luck in your endeavours!

core

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2006, 01:44:49 PM »

ok thankyou
::kiteline::

Barry Hufker

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2006, 01:44:59 PM »

Others may not agree with me but I have used hi-fi monitors for years -- even now.  Good speakers are good speakers.  Some will say you don't need or maybe even want good speakers to know how your mix will translate.  I have no argument with that.

Good speakers or bad speakers, you just need speakers that help you mix so your recordings will play well on a variety of other systems.

Barry

Fibes

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2006, 02:24:54 PM »

It's not uncommon.

Accurate monitoring is a personal decision.

It's not what they sound like that is most important it is how they make you work. "What they make you do."

I mixed on NS-10s for years with various Hi-Fi style speakers as a check system. I learned them and knew where to go just by looking at them (sometimes).