R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: getting into analog recording  (Read 5654 times)

absolutkj

getting into analog recording
« on: January 21, 2006, 03:19:16 PM »

I've never worked with 2" tape before but I have access to a 16track two inch machine, and I wanted to try my luck at it.  I've worked with 1/4" and 1/2" at a mastering studio but I've never tracked to 2".  Would it necessarily be a bad idea to order a few slightly used reels of 2" just so I could get my barings down, before spending $180 on a brand new reel?  We're not talking about sticky tape or anything with problems due to age, but I'm just wondering if there would be a major quality difference due to the tapes' biasing, etc...  Frequency response issues?  Thanks.

scottoliphant

Re: getting into analog recording
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2006, 03:27:22 PM »

not a bad idea at all, in my opinion. Slightly used tape (from the past few years) would be fine. just bias the deck for the type of tape you are going to be running on the machine and make sure it's aligned properly.

Les Ismore

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2006, 03:51:23 PM »

And get the all the same type of tape (so you don't need to re-bias between rolls).
Good used tape is fine. Make sure there's no splices.
Pete Honychurch - Fluid Sound
http://www.myspace.com/PeteHonychurch

absolutkj

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2006, 02:10:22 PM »

how much should I look to spend for a used reel?  Is $30 an outragious low blow offer?  Also, would it matter if I was using the tape on a 16 track and it was previously used on a 24 track?  

scottoliphant

« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2006, 06:40:49 PM »

Quote:

$30 an outragious low blow offer