R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: .mp3 codec  (Read 2593 times)

floodstage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 543
.mp3 codec
« on: January 15, 2006, 08:49:12 PM »

Need a .mp3 encoder to convert .wav's into .mp3's.

Any suggestions for a good PC software for this?

Millions of programs seem to do it.  Which ones sound good?

(inexpensive would be considered a positive feature, btw)
Logged

James Duncan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 583
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2006, 09:49:03 PM »

I use the L.A.M.E. codec that comes with Wavelab, but I think it is "freeware" somewhere. I also bought the Frauhofer (sp?) codec since it is the original, but I have heard from lots of other folks that the L.A.M.E codec is actually better, and it's free!
Logged
James Duncan

"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
Napoleon Bonaparte

James Duncan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 583
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2006, 09:50:29 PM »

Look here for more info on LAME:

http://lame.sourceforge.net/
Logged
James Duncan

"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
Napoleon Bonaparte

Brendan Thompson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2006, 05:42:56 AM »

Yes, LAME is good, and free.
Logged
http://home.no.net/nightguy/images/teambunny2.gif

I'm currently out of my mind, please leave a message after the scream...

floodstage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 543
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2006, 08:22:36 AM »

Is LAME 128 kbs only?
Logged

James Duncan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 583
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2006, 11:16:59 AM »

floodstage wrote on Mon, 16 January 2006 08:22

Is LAME 128 kbs only?



No, I regularily encode at 320 kbs.
Logged
James Duncan

"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
Napoleon Bonaparte

Fibes

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4306
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2006, 11:20:51 AM »

I've been using the L.A.M.E. codec exclusively through DP. It works great and to my ears does what it should with minimum issues.

Logged
Fibes
-------------------------------------------------
"You can like it, or not like it."
The Studio

  http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewArtist ?id=155759887
http://cdbaby.com/cd/superhorse
http://cdbaby.com/cd/superhorse2

floodstage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 543
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2006, 12:32:16 PM »

I went to the LAME site James reccomended

LAME apparently needs an application to run

I tried the first one on the list (AudioGrabber)

It seems to work well, but only does 128.

Any apps (free ones please) that anyone suggests?

PC only please.
Logged

NelsonL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1233
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2006, 02:46:23 PM »

Hey Flood,

I use LAME in Audacity-- works well in OSX for me. BUT... it originated on the PC side so I bet it works well:

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Anyway, I refuse to pay Digi for their mp3 option. What a joke.
Logged

John Jeffers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2006, 06:37:12 PM »

floodstage wrote on Mon, 16 January 2006 17:32

I tried the first one on the list (AudioGrabber)

It seems to work well, but only does 128.

I use AudioGrabber with LAME all the time, and it's definitely not limited to 128.  It can do whatever bitrate you want.
Logged

sekim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2006, 11:53:22 AM »

Get the Razor Lame gui (it's free)  The pair make a nice little stand alone conversion app and you can set most of the LAME parameters with it.
Logged

smorgdonkey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2006, 11:38:23 PM »

floodstage wrote on Mon, 16 January 2006 10:32

I went to the LAME site James reccomended

LAME apparently needs an application to run

I tried the first one on the list (AudioGrabber)

It seems to work well, but only does 128.




Audiograbber is completely adjustable...just click on the mp3 icon in audiograbber and move the slider to the bitrate that you desire...multiple settings between 32 to 320...there you go!!
Logged

floodstage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 543
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2006, 11:32:21 AM »

I must have gotten a wierd version of LAME or something.  Audiograbber only did 56 k.  Then I downloaded LAME and it does 128 and some other stuff, but the version I got only goes to 128.  (It does have a 160 option that isn't LAME, but no 192 and higher (that I can find yet) Must have downloaded an old version of LAME.  I'll keep on it.

index.php/fa/2233/0/
Logged

Ronny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2739
Re: .mp3 codec
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2006, 03:09:56 PM »




LAME used to LPF all frequencies above 12.5k. Fraunhofer doesn't cut until 15k. LAME adds more gain to the encoded signal than Fraunhofer does also. Check your before and after gain, you are going to get more overs with LAME if your pre-coded material is close to -0dBFS. Not a bad idea to have peak level at -1dB or a little less when using LAME.  
Logged
------Ronny Morris - Digitak Mastering------
---------http://digitakmastering.com---------
----------Powered By Experience-------------
-------------Driven To Perfection---------------

Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.036 seconds with 19 queries.