R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Why is EQ so taxing on a computer's CPU?  (Read 3557 times)

Version

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 845
Why is EQ so taxing on a computer's CPU?
« on: January 05, 2006, 05:55:31 pm »

If this topic has been discussed already could someone please link me to the conversation or an offsite link to help me understand this. I've searched the net and this forum but couldn't find quantifiable information. That said...

Why does equalization require such intense math? I am not familiar with the algorithms utilized by eq plugins but I would like to learn more. From what I gather, equalization can never be done truly well on a computer because of the computer's lack of horsepower/bandwidth. There are plugs that do a reasonable job but why is it so much better to turn to my outboard EQ?

I would love to read any documented information that delves deeply into the current state of digital equalization; both it's past and future.

Thanks!

Logged

Ronny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2739
Re: Why is EQ so taxing on a computer's CPU?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 01:07:29 am »



I would love to read any documented information that told you that you can never truly eq on a computer.
Logged
------Ronny Morris - Digitak Mastering------
---------http://digitakmastering.com---------
----------Powered By Experience-------------
-------------Driven To Perfection---------------

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: Why is EQ so taxing on a computer's CPU?
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2008, 09:42:30 am »

Seems to me that Compression taxes the CPU even more than equalisation.

As if digital compression really works...
Logged

PookyNMR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1991
Re: Why is EQ so taxing on a computer's CPU?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2008, 01:24:01 pm »

If I understand it correctly, EQ is more of a linear process where as compression is a non-linear process.  It is the non-linear processes that take much more CPU power to get anything near a pleasing result with digital processing.

If EQ is taking up so much processing power on your system, I'd suggest two ideas.  The first that your computer is too old / too slow.  The second that what ever EQ you are using is either broken or something highly specialized that is not mean for general usage.


Logged
Nathan Rousu

KAyo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 345
Re: Why is EQ so taxing on a computer's CPU?
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2008, 05:18:35 pm »

Hmm..
maybe this article sheds some light.
http://www.nugenaudio.com/seq.php

Read - "Why Linear Phase?" onwards.
Hopefully, its helpful. Rolling Eyes

Bye mate,
Kayo
Logged
http://www.Kantabiz.com
Business Video Directory
Pages: [1]   Go Up