R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mastering to pc based CDR writer  (Read 2941 times)

zverinu

Mastering to pc based CDR writer
« on: December 13, 2005, 05:55:21 AM »

I am mastering finished audio productions to CDR with a pc based recorder. I use Samplitude for this. I used to have an A-Open cd-writer and experienced few problems. However, I recently upgraded to a Sony DVD-writer since I have ventured in video-production as well. Now I seem to have a problem with errors on cd's I write in that drive.

I have a few questions as I am fairly new to this topic:

1) is there good (freeware) software to check the number of errors on written cd's?

2) can writing cd's in a DVD recorder increase the error count?

3) what cd- or dvd-writer could you recommend for this application?

I would be delighted to hear your enlightened opinions on this matter

Kind greetings,

Joachim Brackx

Thomas W. Bethel

Re: Mastering to pc based CDR writer
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2005, 08:33:33 AM »

No freeware program for error checking that I am aware of.

"DVD Writers" should not increase the number of errors

I would suggest you get a Plextor with the included software to check for errors.

What media are you currently using? Some media is better than others and has a lower error count . Suggest doing a search on this site this topic has been covered before.

Best of luck!
-TOM-

Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Pingu

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2005, 09:07:25 AM »

I think all the guys around here use
Plextor Premium.
It comes with its own error checking software i believe.

Cd speed is a free download and is great for error checking.