R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JoeMeek?  (Read 4270 times)

Dom3735

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 237
JoeMeek?
« on: December 07, 2005, 03:29:20 pm »

Hi There!
I'm new to this forum, and havent made a post yet.
Why?
Just 'cause every question I can imagine is already
answered here! hehe, you guys rules!!  Cool

So, my first post goes like this,
What do you guys think about JoeMeek products?
Anyone tried the new TwinQ?

I'm gonna try one out this week-end,
And since i'm looking for a decent economic dual strip,
it may be what i need...

Anyway, thanx again for thoses great tips you're sharin'!!

Cheers,

DB



Logged
Dom Berg,
Sonolab Studios, PQ, Canada.
WWW.MYSPACE.COM/WAKEUPROCKS

Glenn Bucci

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 627
Re: JoeMeek?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 04:07:00 pm »

Hello Read this reveiw to get some insight on the new Joe Meek products. The Twin 2 has a lot of the same guts as this unit. http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/feb05/articles/joemeekthreeq .htm
Logged

Dom3735

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 237
Re: JoeMeek?
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 08:00:58 am »

Thanx for you reply keef, it helped a lot!

On the joemeek site you can read:

''-We started with high quality Burr-Brown IC's for the preamp, added an extremely musical EQ section and an optical compressor for that signature "Meek" sound. Then we included some new and innovative features, like an "Iron" switch that switches the IC front end to a transformer - completely changing the topology of the circuit. It even has 24bit, 96k A/D converters built in.''


It looks like really cool features..
but how about quality?
Can we trust the ''new'' joemeek?

Their mic line looks a bit shitty... Confused
Did anyone had try one of those new pre?

thanx again!

DB
Logged
Dom Berg,
Sonolab Studios, PQ, Canada.
WWW.MYSPACE.COM/WAKEUPROCKS

mattianlaseppia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: JoeMeek?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2008, 02:32:58 pm »

yes, i'm curious too.. if you read their site seems great stuff...

and if you hear it.. how it sounds?
Logged

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: JoeMeek?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2008, 11:39:05 pm »

People can say anything on a website...or in a Forum post.
Logged

Hank Alrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 656
Re: JoeMeek?
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2008, 12:53:33 am »

P48 switch on the back of the box??

jonathan jetter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 443
Re: JoeMeek?
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 12:42:25 am »

i've used one of the two-channel boxes w/ the EQ, Opto Comp, and "Iron" switch.

preamp is quite usable, though certainly not comparable to API/Daking/whatever.  i thought the Opto compressor sucked.  EQ is tolerable but certainly nothing special.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up