R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Buzz from preamp stops when touching chasis. HELP!!  (Read 10857 times)

mdb

Buzz from preamp stops when touching chasis. HELP!!
« on: March 04, 2011, 11:45:36 AM »

I'm not a newbie (well, here I am), but not pro either. I purchased a USED Trident S40 mic preamp and have been playing around with it. I really like it, but have a question about some terrible buzz.

Quick background:

I'm hooked up to a Mac Pro using a Motu 2408 mk2 A/D converter/ interface. All equipment has a ground pin on their respective power cables and are all connected to the same metal rack bars so that should tie all their chassis' together. The wall jack does have ground going to the panel, but it is not a separate electrical panel. I have a Digimax D8 preamp (connected via analog outs and not the ADAT out) as well and it does not produce the same buzz.

Here's the scenario:

* Gating the signal at -63dB from within my DAW gets rid of the buzz.
    * With NO input cables plugged in, if I turn the gain up it's relatively quiet (small amount of speaker static type noise). With the input gain over +45dB and the output gain at +5dB or more, the preamp begins to produce electrical noise, but I'm thinking that's fairly high gain.
    * Plug the XLR cable in (no mic attached) and I get buzz (probably RF noise) at lower gain. Insert 48V phantom power and it gets a little worse.
    * Attach a microphone to the XLR cable and the buzz significantly reduces, but is still noticeable with high gain settings.
    * Using the instrument input (built-in DI) on the front panel produces the same as above.
      Hovering my hand centered and over the top of the amp increases the buzz significantly, but touching the amp chasis almost eliminates it completely.