R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: pro tools or not  (Read 23603 times)

Ashermusic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 684
Re: pro tools or not
« Reply #30 on: October 28, 2008, 12:53:45 pm »

Etch-A-Sketch wrote on Thu, 16 February 2006 19:09

blueboy wrote on Wed, 15 February 2006 14:24



  http://www.digitalmusicdoctor.com/shootout/audio_ratings.htm

Check out the Mixing section heading and look at the line that says "Plugin Delay Compensation".

JL



And again... why are you assuming they are correct?  Just because they took the time to post a webpage?  I fail to see any testing methodology listed as to how they came to the conclusion that LE and MP has no delay compensation.  In this instance, they are 100% incorrect.  Do the test for yourself instead of pointing me to all these different threads of people incorrectly saying that it doesn't.  

Someone two months down the line may make reference to your post saying that it doesn't and take it as fact...when in reality, you've never done any testing yourself and are just going by hearsay.  I have personally done the testing myself and have talked to people at Digidesign and at Soundtoys (used to be Wave Mechanics) about it.  What have you done besides read someone else's BS review of a software they probably put together by reading spec sheets instead of actually purchasing the software and doing the phsyical tests themselves.

I would imagine the reason digital doctor says that LE doesn't have delay compensation is because they don't list it as a "feature" on their website while Cubase and other software do list it as a feature.  I would bet money that the people that put together that comparison chart on digitaldoctor.com have never even sat down and used all of the programs listed, nevermind contacting the companies and getting eval copies of the software/hardware for reviewing purposes.

Blueboy...do you even own protools?  It sounds like you don't...  Maybe I'm wrong... but if you really did own protools, you would have said, "I opened up protools last night and tried it and you know what, it does do delay compensation."  Instead you keep trying to point us to links with misinformation due to user error and bogus marketing propaganda.



Derek, I have breakfast periodically with 2 of the leading guys from Digi. We last met 2 weeks ago. I asked them this specifically.

PT8 LE does not have full ADC. Period.
Logged
Composer, Logic Pro Certified Trainer, Level 2
Author of "Going Pro with Logic Pro 8"

www.jayasher.com

majormusiccontacts

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: pro tools or not
« Reply #31 on: December 12, 2008, 11:20:57 pm »

Definitely try out the MBOX with PROTOOLS. You will not miss out. It is only a $500 investment. Once you try it, it will blow you away.
Logged
Major Record Label A&R Contacts and Phone Numbers
http://www.majormusiccontacts.com

My Friend's Audio Mastering
http://www.audiophd.com

->> Links are advertising NOT optimising!! <<-
Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?

Nick Sevilla

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 853
Re: pro tools or not
« Reply #32 on: December 15, 2008, 12:58:42 am »

blueboy wrote on Tue, 15 August 2006 10:40

Finally...an official response regarding delay compensation in PTLE.

  http://akmedia.digidesign.com/support/docs/DelayCompPTLE& ;amp ;amp ;MP_29303.pdf


JL


I still cannot read this document.


Quote:

blueboy wrote on Wed, 15 February 2006 14:24

 http://www.digitalmusicdoctor.com/shootout/audio_ratings.htm

Check out the Mixing section heading and look at the line that says "Plugin Delay Compensation".

JLI


Their website was voted worst tutorials... for ProTools.

http://www.audiogeekzine.com/?p=603

Strangely, I saw that the guy there favors Steinberg products over all else. Maybe he / she should try Pro Tools HD one day.

Me, I would take your recommended website with a grain of salt.

Oh, and Pro Tools LE still has no full ADC.

Do some objective tests yourself. Try doing IO recording "loopback tests" both with and without your supposedly compensated plugins. You'll be surprised. Very surprised.

Just because the DAW reports the delay, does not mean it is adjusting it.

Cheers
Logged
-------------------------------------------------
It is quite possible, captain, that they find us grotesque and ugly and many people fear beings different from themselves.

www.nicksevilla.com

blueboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Re: pro tools or not
« Reply #33 on: May 04, 2009, 11:37:12 am »

Nick Sevilla wrote on Sun, 14 December 2008 21:58



Their website was voted worst tutorials... for ProTools.

http://www.audiogeekzine.com/?p=603

Strangely, I saw that the guy there favors Steinberg products over all else. Maybe he / she should try Pro Tools HD one day.

Me, I would take your recommended website with a grain of salt.

Oh, and Pro Tools LE still has no full ADC.

Do some objective tests yourself. Try doing IO recording "loopback tests" both with and without your supposedly compensated plugins. You'll be surprised. Very surprised.

Just because the DAW reports the delay, does not mean it is adjusting it.

Cheers


I don't recall recommending that site for anything other than a comparative listing of DAW features. Whether you agree with any of their subjective ratings or not is up to you.

Make sure you click on "Explain the Rating" for a detailed feature comparison. If you have a link to a more comprehensive feature comparison...please post it.

In the interest of clarification...here is the Digidesign PDF from the link I posted.

*REMOVE .JPG FROM THE NAME OF THE DOWNLOADED FILE IN ORDER TO VIEW*

Logged
"Only he who attempts the absurd can achieve the impossible." ~ Manuel Onamuno

KAyo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 345
Re: pro tools or not
« Reply #34 on: December 05, 2009, 01:16:02 am »

It's a simple choice..

Are you going to be working within the industry as a service personnel. E.g. Engineer, editor, sound designer, compiler, transfer chum.. OR are you going to be independent player, creating and making your own within the industry.. if ‘YES” then get whatever works for you.. But, if planning to become a service type guy, then pro-tools is essential.

I use Vegas and ACID, Nuendo, Sequoia, Wavelab and Soundforge big time! But, when I do some industry work, I work via the MBox Pro-tools, cause that’s how the files arrive and that’s what they prefer to work with etc.. I have OMF’d files and ported over to Nuendo at times, but, it’s still a lot of work for big sessions etc..

If looking for interfaces, checkout the line6 stuff too.. some say it’s rather cheap and nasty. The good stuff comes from TC electronics, Apogee etc..

Ciao,
KAyo
Logged
http://www.Kantabiz.com
Business Video Directory
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up