R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10   Go Down

Author Topic: the "high frequency transients" fallacy  (Read 53938 times)

danlavry

Re: the "high frequency transients" fallacy
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2005, 12:58:44 PM »

Joe Bryan wrote on Tue, 01 March 2005 05:54

Hi Dan-

I'm not quite ready to accept your assumption that the ear has the band-limited reponse your argument requires.

I'm not an expert on human perceptual physiology, so I'll leave this point for others to debate. However, I know how circuits behave, and if the physical issues I've mentioned have analogues in our hearing system, I wouldn't be very surprised.

In the mean time, I'll continue to believe my own ears when it comes to audio quality issues.

Cheers,

-Joe

Hi Dan-

I'm not quite ready to accept your assumption that the ear has the band-limited response your argument requires.

I'm not an expert on human perceptual physiology, so I'll leave this point for others to debate. However, I know how circuits behave, and if the physical issues I've mentioned have analogues in our hearing system, I wouldn't be very surprised.

Cheers,
-Joe

Your statement is that you understand circuits, therefore it gives you a sense of the mechanics is less that half baked. You just claimed some knowledge and left it at that, no explanations, and I think your statement actually helps “my case”.

I too know about circuits, and IF the physical issues you mentioned are indeed analogues to hearing system, that only makes my statement more correct! I do not know if that ear is behaving like a circuit, and making such assumption is going very far in my book. But microphones, speakers and dynamic mechanical systems have been modeled by electrical circuits, such as in the era of analog computers. I believe there was a time when automotive suspension was modeled by electrical means…