R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Digtal input trim on some programs and digtal boards. Why?  (Read 666 times)

Working Musician

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Digtal input trim on some programs and digtal boards. Why?
« on: December 16, 2004, 09:29:38 pm »

Hello:

On a DMX-R 100 I've noticed that the board actually has a "digital" trim control post A/D.  

What could be the reason for such a control? Also, I've noticed this feature in Nuendo. In that program the trim comes pre eq/pre insert/fx

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Mark
Logged
Regards
MJB

bobkatz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2926
Re: Digtal input trim on some programs and digtal boards. Why?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2004, 09:35:25 pm »

Working Musician wrote on Thu, 16 December 2004 21:29

Hello:

On a DMX-R 100 I've noticed that the board actually has a "digital" trim control post A/D.  

What could be the reason for such a control? Also, I've noticed this feature in Nuendo. In that program the trim comes pre eq/pre insert/fx

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Mark


I believe the DMX-R-100 is a floating point console, as is Nuendo, so perhaps you have a good point. The trim might be unnecessary. However, if the trim precedes an insert point which is feeding the outside world at fixed point, it has a good purpose.
Logged
There are two kinds of fools,
One says-this is old and therefore good.
The other says-this is new and therefore better."

No trees were killed in the sending of this message. However a large number of
electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

Working Musician

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Digtal input trim on some programs and digtal boards. Why?
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2004, 09:48:06 pm »

Hi Bob:

Meaning to drive input stage on compressors, etc?

Regards
Mark
Logged
Regards
MJB
Pages: [1]   Go Up