R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: RADAR 96K differs from all other ad/da's how?  (Read 6735 times)

McLovin

• Real Full Name: Gordon Budd
  • Can't we all just agree on one thing?
RADAR 96K differs from all other ad/da's how?
« on: October 26, 2015, 02:55:08 PM »

I'm wondering if there's any experienced opinions on how RADAR's sonic footprint might differ from today's converters, and in particular the Prism Lyra 2?

I'm aware of the work flow benefit to the session controller for RADAR, but what is it about the RADAR that seems to have this magic sonic character, (which I've only read about) that makes it special (or would you disagree otherwise)? 

As a novice, my understanding so far is that it's not the gear that makes for a great sonic outcome (and I'll refer to Fletcher's post on the Yayhoo's first album out of a Barn with Adat)..

In terms of hierarchy my thoughts go something like this (feel free to correct me), as it pertains to the final product/song/sound.

1. Source: Musicians, the songs/music.
2. Engineer/ears, skill set.
3.Monitors, room treatment which includes the mixing area and the tracking area
4. Microphones
5. Preamps
6. Converters

If this list is true, than should I really worry about the converters in the signal chain before I worry about all the other things, and if so, what percentage might the conversion make to the overall outcome sonically?

I appreciate the session controller element of RADAR is purposeful, and one doesn't have to be 'clicking' with a mouse and arming tracks etc, but apart from this workflow aspect, is there something about RADAR that just leaves the other conversion products behind? (or will you say it's  just 'different', which I would ask, how so?)
Weekend Warrior

Fletcher

Re: RADAR 96K differs from all other ad/da's how?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2015, 09:59:36 PM »