R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Monitors/Speakers possible Damage/ How to know?  (Read 4826 times)

jaimech

• Real Full Name: Jaime Chinchilla
Monitors/Speakers possible Damage/ How to know?
« on: January 04, 2016, 08:34:26 PM »

Hello.  I am a experienced musician just starting to produce at my newly set up home studio.  So pretty inexperience in that regard.  I just got my first set of Professional Monitors/Speakers and I invested in a nice pair of Focal CMS 65. On the second day of using them I answered a FaceTime call on my iMac and stopped working on my mix. The FaceTime App was at a much lower volume level so I just hit the volume knob on my interface to the maximum level which was just decent for FaceTime. When I finished my call and went for a cup of coffee, very stupidly, I just played the mix I was working on and of course it was at a very high and unbearable volume. It was just a couple of seconds because as soon as the sound came out of the speakers I hit the volume know and turned it down. My question is: as you can imagine now I am paranoid about if I damaged my beautiful brandon new focal speakers. Is there a way to know, is there a sound test you can do on the speakers?

Fletcher

Re: Monitors/Speakers possible Damage/ How to know?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2016, 09:40:20 PM »

Chances are way better than even that they're fine... the way to tell is to listen to the bass track solo'd at a fairly decent level... if you hear distortion that wasn't there before you might have an issue.  Most likely it will sound just like the bass you originally tracked [I'm sure you'd have noticed if the tweeters were gone... but just for the hell of it, try the same "solo" thing with vocals and drum overheads if there are any].