R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie from Louisiana  (Read 2506 times)

ConductorX

• Real Full Name: Gary Scurlock
Newbie from Louisiana
« on: August 31, 2014, 10:44:45 PM »

Not only a newbie but I am totally new to sound systems.  I have been a photographer for years and I want to video productions with good sound.  This forum may be way too advanced for me.

I need the basics, I have good PC skills and I understand some electronics.  This is what I want to do.

Record live video, person in video wearing a lapel mic.  Also pick up some of the ambient sounds common in a work shop.  Grinding, welding, cutting etc.

I want to be able to record voice over to be added to the video in post production.

I don't know the terminology.  I know what a 1/4 phono plug and an RCA Jack and Plug is.  My camera has two XLR microphone inputs to record sound along with the video track.

Can some one create a simple lay out of the equipment I need and the connections between the various parts?

I would like the lapel mic to be wireless.  I was told I need a mixing board and that I need balanced inputs and stereo output to achieve the  best results.  i am at a loss there. I don't know what all of that means.   I noticed everyone seems to speak in acronyms but I need to know what they mean as well.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Gary Scurlock (real name)

Tim Halligan

Re: Newbie from Louisiana
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2014, 02:06:31 AM »

Ok...where to begin...

Let's start at the front end.

You have a camera, and given your photographic background, I assume you can compose a frame and light for it.

What camera is it? Do the mic inputs ( the XLRs you mentioned ) supply phantom power?

Presumably the camera has it's own internal mic.