R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Breaking In" Mics?  (Read 17600 times)

Haolemon

"Breaking In" Mics?
« on: July 13, 2014, 12:29:53 PM »

As a musician, I note that one has to "break in", via use, certain items, such as guitar strings, acoustic guitars, amplifier speakers, drum heads, etc.  Does this apply to microphone diaphragms?  Since they are under tension, does some use and the vibration involved cause them to change from their new condition?

I haven't seen this discussed before, perhaps because the question is unworthy :)

Thanks

Kai

Re: "Breaking In" Mics?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2014, 01:53:39 PM »

For musical instruments what you call "break in" is undoubtly very important.

A high quality condenser mic - on the other hand - is constructed with the goal that it should NOT change its sound over time.
For this purpose, some critical parts of it are even pre-aged.
So once it's delivered, its sound should stay the same for a long time.
Breaking in with sound of any kind (except explosions) for sure wouldn't change the mic.
Only environmental circumstances like very high temperature or excessive humidity or a combination of both can "break" - not "break in" - a mic.
I say "break" because every change is unintentional here.

Some electronic parts, specially electrolytic capacitors, can change a bit if in use after a long time with no power applied to them.
This is called "reformatting", because they where already "formated" in the factory.
The effect is very little and mostly inaudible, as those C's are usually not in the audio chain.
Plus - it's only necessary to put power on them to do this, no special signal required.

Regards
Kai

polypals

• Real Full Name: Paul Kirchhoff
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2014, 05:14:42 PM »