R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: groove tube brick?  (Read 6844 times)

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
groove tube brick?
« on: December 21, 2010, 11:11:19 am »

anyone have a lot of experience with this mic pre?

they are cheap, and i'm looking for something "less then pristine" sounding.

i've been using my evil twin DI as a mic pre (without the mic pre mod) and it's pretty cool.  just looking for something different.
Logged

NelsonL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1233
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 11:30:05 am »

This is one of the things I tell my home recordist friends/clients to get.

But equally at home in the studio and definitely a different sound than solid state stuff I've used, e.g. 312, TG2, Quad Eight, etc.


Logged

rankus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5560
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2010, 02:50:38 pm »



I have two of them.  Love them on overheads to smooth out cymbals. A little "tubby" as a bass DI...  Worth having for sure!

Logged
Rick Welin - Clark Drive Studios http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios

Ive done stuff I'm not proud of.. and the stuff I am proud of is disgusting ~ Moe Sizlack

"There is no crisis in energy, the crisis is in imagination" ~ Buckminster Fuller

C.Cash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1889
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2010, 02:55:57 pm »

I have 2 of them, have used them for keyboards mostly and as a bass guitar DI.
I really like them on the digital keyboards.
Logged
><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><





dconstruction

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2010, 03:48:03 pm »

We (as you know) have four.  While I like them, I find: 1.) the 55dB of gain is not enough for quiet sources or ribbon mics, 2.) the lack of pad forces the use of an inline pad for loud sources, and 3.) the power and 48V switches on the back are inconvenient.
Logged

fiasco ( P.M.DuMont )

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2010, 06:21:06 pm »

I seem to remember that Terry Manning uses them for the pre.
Logged
Philip

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2010, 08:01:45 pm »

I have six of them, and use them when I run out of my better preamps.

They are fine, but I do agree that they are somewhat shy of gain on some quiet sources, and sometimes a pad would be helpful.

The switches on the back don't bother me.

Often used on elec gtr, wurli, not much on bass.

Tubes, decent transformers, OK.
Logged

dconstruction

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2010, 01:51:24 pm »

Another note: they're discontinued.  You have a source on used ones, J?
Logged

compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2010, 06:39:55 pm »

Here is a store in KY that has at least one new for sale...maybe check with them and see if they have more.

 http://cgi.ebay.com/Groove-Tubes-Brick-1-Channel-Mic-Preamp-  and-DI-Box-/270683142958?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item 3f05f8fb2e

BTW, if you get any, I highly recommend painting the top case black...they are really ugly otherwise.
Logged

C.Cash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1889
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2010, 09:00:17 am »

I was thinking maybe to paint mine bright yellow or lime green, will this make them sound too bright?
Logged
><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><





compasspnt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16266
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2010, 09:51:29 am »

Anything is better!
Logged

0dbfs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 405
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2010, 11:32:14 am »

As long as it's lead based paint it should help. Just don't eat the chips.

best,
j
Logged
Jonathan Burtner
Music is Everything!
Audio is Everything Else!

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2010, 02:00:15 pm »

do they have a "soft" or "muted" top end?  i'm looking for something like that.  i also like the idea of tube distortion should i go for that.  not sure they have enough gain though.

the evil twin breaks up oh so beautifully.
Logged

rankus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5560
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2010, 04:11:20 pm »



J check out the tune: "If I should Die" by Shot Bravo on my MySpace page... EVERY track went through Bricks... Nice and "smooth" me thinks.  (Note this was way back when I had RME converters too.. so there's a sonic hit there.)  I must do another album like this!

Myspace:   http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios/music/songs/If-I-Sh ould-Die-Shot-Bravo-65199537

I think they'll have the character your looking for.

Logged
Rick Welin - Clark Drive Studios http://www.myspace.com/clarkdrivestudios

Ive done stuff I'm not proud of.. and the stuff I am proud of is disgusting ~ Moe Sizlack

"There is no crisis in energy, the crisis is in imagination" ~ Buckminster Fuller

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2010, 02:12:01 pm »

i'm really lusting after a Pultec MAVEQ.  the producer i engineer for has one and it sounds SO good
Logged

leonardo valvassori

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1243
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2011, 10:48:33 am »

I've had one for a few years and it has seen a lot of action.
Can't think of another pre in that price range that sounds as good.
Terry is correct:--they look awful, but I haven't repainted mine.

Logged
Leonardo Valvassori

j.hall

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787
Re: groove tube brick?
« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2011, 04:40:25 pm »

i used a brick on vocals all week.  it sounds really good.  nice a smooth.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up