R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?  (Read 4205 times)

jetbase

  • R/E/P Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« on: January 20, 2011, 05:02:16 pm »

Using a console, what's the best way to connect guitar fx pedals to use as outboard fx in a mix, achieving the best s/n ratio & tone? I would think possibly you could simply connect an aux send directly to the pedal & keep the level low, fine tuning the level with the pedal's input level (if it has one). Or maybe, like reamping a guitar, use a passive DI in reverse (or a reamp box - but I don't have one). For returns I guess just DI into mic pre into fx returns or into mic input on a channel. Is there a better or simpler way?

Thanks,
Glenn
Logged
Glenn Santry
HeartBeat Studio
http://www.myspace.com/glennsantry

MagnetoSound

  • R/E/P Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 06:39:41 pm »


That is exactly the way I would do it, although I wouldn't bother with the reverse DI in front of the pedal.
Logged
Dan Sansom
Magneto Sound
UK

0dbfs

  • Marketplace
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 11:31:31 pm »

I've used both methods and even if I "felt better" withe the re-amp/reverse-DI method, it's still an fx pedal and acomplished the desired result (it fucked up the $ignal).

Best,
j
Logged
Jonathan Burtner
Music is Everything!
Audio is Everything Else!

jetbase

  • R/E/P Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 11:35:07 pm »

Thanks guys!
Logged
Glenn Santry
HeartBeat Studio
http://www.myspace.com/glennsantry

jonoaustin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2011, 06:27:26 am »

these things are fantastic:  http://littlelabs.com/pcp.html

Actually, all his stuff is fantastic.  You can occasionally find PCP's used...
Logged

jetbase

  • R/E/P Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 08:15:33 pm »

Thanks Jono, it likes like a pretty handy little unit. Nice to know what's out there.
Logged
Glenn Santry
HeartBeat Studio
http://www.myspace.com/glennsantry

Ned Ward

  • SR Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2011, 02:49:48 am »

Radial's Pro RMP is $99, licensed from John Cuniberti, and is great for exactly this. I use it running an out from my 003 into this into a pedalboard when I want to reamp, but you could easily use this and a Radial JDI at the other end. Given that you're starting with a line-level signal, it's really what FX units you have - good ones will do well with a range of signals; cheaper ones will yield "interesting" results.
Logged
My mother and the forum moderators always posted that if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say it.

drknob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: How do you hook up FX pedals as outboard fx?
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2011, 09:58:04 am »

Lots of good advice here.
Remember - with guitars, it's not that the level is low. The problem is the source impedance is high, usually in the 100k+ area. When you plug your guitar into a device, the source impedance of the guitar and the input impedance of the device you've plugged into create a voltage divider. This makes it impossible to drive anything but a high impedance device without changing the sound and level of the guitar itself. Think of a direct box as an impedance converter. This is why a passive direct box, in order to lower source impedance must also lower the signal level. An active DI does not have this problem. Ohm's Law strikes again!
Nerd alert.  :o
Logged
Harold Kilianski
CIRMMT, McGill University
Pages: [1]   Go Up