R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Jecklin Disk - Favourite Classical Recordings?  (Read 15529 times)

studiochap

Jecklin Disk - Favourite Classical Recordings?
« on: August 22, 2010, 02:26:46 AM »

I've been using the Jecklin disk since the early 1980's, but not being a classical engineer I've never had the chance to use one in any classical music context, -  except for occasional solo pianos or commercial string sections  (with delayed spot mics added where necessary).

I would be very interested indeed to hear a classical recording made with the Jecklin OSS system, which in the opinion of knowledgeable forum members is an outstanding example of the application of that technique in an orchestral context.

Any suggestions for particular recordings would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Gwyn
Gwyn Mathias
Odessa Wharf Studios ( now down the tubes after 14yrs...RIP )
Pro Audio Survivor...Smile

"What,Me Worry?" Alfred E. Neumann (...or was it Newmann?Smile

Electrical Theory by Joseph Lucas (inventor of the Self-Dimming Headlamp):
"Smoke is the thing that makes electrical circuits work; we know this to be true because every time one lets the smoke out of the electrical system, it stops working"

Blas

Re: Jecklin Disk - Favourite Classical Recordings?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 12:08:07 AM »

Gwyn, I've used a self constructed jecklin disc for my 5.1 concerts over the passed 10 years and feel the use of the disc for my rear monitors are just beauiful for capturing the surround effect of the mature instruments and quality of the venue it was captured in.

I use two ADK 51TL's in omini mode with the disc and am very happy when I place them about 30 feet front the stage edge and about 15-20 feet up.  You pick-up very well developed waves.

Visit my control room and let it show you how wonderful surround can be!!!