R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Purchasing a New vs. Vintage Microphone, Same Model  (Read 26829 times)

Nick Sevilla

Purchasing a New vs. Vintage Microphone, Same Model
« on: January 08, 2009, 03:35:46 PM »

Hi Klaus and Forum members,

I have been interested in augmenting my mic collection with some more valuable microphones for some time now.

My question is the following:

What are some assets/drawbacks in buying a "vintage" original microphone, versus being able to buy a new version of it?

I currently am looking at an ELAM 251E, original issue, and also am looking at the new version of it, by Telefunken USA.

I am an audio engineer, so I do expect to use this microphone in selected situations. It will not be exclusively an "investment" purchase for me. I have used an original issue ELAM 251E in the past, and liked it, although I know each mic will sound different.

Thank you for your time,

Nick
-------------------------------------------------
It is quite possible, captain, that they find us grotesque and ugly and many people fear beings different from themselves.

www.nicksevilla.com

Klaus Heyne

Re: Purchasing a New vs. Vintage Microphone, Same Model
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2009, 04:41:58 PM »

You addressed me specifically, so I will start.

I believe the biggest misunderstanding and confusion by a potential buyer when comparing "original"  to "new version", as you describe it, is this: an assumption is made that both are related. The question is: how much or how little are they related beyond the obvious shape and features?

It is of course the goal of every cloner or copier to get as close as possible to the shapes, features, build quality and, most of importantly, sound, of the original. How close is a matter of each individual copier's intent, knowledge and willingness to spend, both in captal and life time.