R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Oh My God...  (Read 6277 times)

Oh My God...
« on: August 16, 2008, 03:04:42 AM »

I'm not really a saloon person, but...

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080815/ts_nm/texas_guns_dc_2

I work in a school system in California.  So you can safely assume for now that I won't be packing a piece in the classroom.

Interesting that they think this will REDUCE school violence.

mgod

Re: Oh My God...
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2008, 10:26:45 AM »

That's why they say don't mess with Texas.

Personally, I plan not to. I expect it will be an independent territory by the mid-21st century.

DS
"There IS no Coolometer." - Larry Janus

Barry Hufker

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2008, 12:28:59 PM »

"HOUSTON (Reuters) - A Texas school district will let teachers bring guns to class this fall, the district's superintendent said on Friday, in what experts said appeared to be a first in the United States."

To echo Dan, "Don't worry.  This isn't happening in the U.S.  It's happening in Texas."

ktownson

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2008, 03:50:37 PM »

I used to have a teacher in the 7th grade who was a reservist. He left his automatic rifle on the back floorboard in plain view. This would've been '69-70.

I went to a rural high school.  Half the trucks in the student lot had shotguns in the window rack. Lot of guys would go hunting before class. They'd dress their kills in the Ag Center.

We all had pocket knives, too.  Different world.

"World Boogie is coming." James Luther Dickinson

mgod

« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2008, 12:13:12 PM »

Abd I bet you guys didn't use them on each other.

DS

« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2008, 01:40:29 PM »

But even that wasn't like a handgun in the classroom.  I just wonder how long it will take before it's used to discipline the kids.

Barry Hufker

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2008, 03:30:51 PM »