R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:


Author Topic: new CPU  (Read 2881 times)

Offline Timmahh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
new CPU
« on: May 09, 2004, 04:19:11 pm »
Ok peeps, time for some justification.
Building a New PC> ( Mac s are just to fning expensive)
heres the jist of it


4 space aluminum rack case
400 w power supply
Mobo.  Gigabyte  GA-7NNXP" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset
                Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU
CPU    AMD XP3200 Barton Core 400fsb
Ram    Kingston HyperX  PC3200   2x512 for now, will
      add another gig of the same in a few months
HD     Western Digital 36.7 Gig Raptor 10,000 rpm
Vid    Powered by ati 9200se with dual video 128 ram 8xAGP

also being used are the following

1.44 Samsung Floppy
Samsung Zip 100 drive

will be putting in a 52x cd player/burner, probably a LiteOn.

the interface we will be using is a Motu 24i with the 324 pci

most likely will be using one of these software progies

CakeWalk 9.0 Pro
Sonar XL v2
Pro Tools
Samplitude v7.2

on Win XP PRO. customized for recording. only puttin on what has to be on the machine.
We will be using various 2nd HDs for storage of audio. as a new band comes into the studio, there will be a new HD for storage.ect...

any help you peeps can offer as far as

possible problems, settings, configurations,
or just general, I did this n had this problem and solved it by....

or that didnt work for me but this did...  

would be greatly appreciated...

fyi, i have already dled the driver updates from motus site to use with XP.  i have 98 2nd edition, most of which i have found solutions for.  or Win 2k we could load if these are better, but i m very comfortable with xp and its possible Probs, as i am with 98, my partner uses 2000.  just a general rundown of what it looks like, will have the puter together end of week, and hopefully starting to record this coming weekend.  so Now is the time to get feedback!!! FIRE AWAY
Thanx
I had to do it cuz I'm Just like that!!!!!
Timmahh!!!

Offline Fulcrum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: new CPU
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2004, 09:44:42 pm »
Timmahh wrote on Sun, 09 May 2004 16:19

most likely will be using one of these software progies

CakeWalk 9.0 Pro
Sonar XL v2
Pro Tools
Samplitude v7.2

on Win XP PRO.


XP Pro would be the preferred method, and if you do go with that I personally would shy away from Cake 9 and head toward Sonar with all speed.

Other than that I'd say you pretty much have everything covered. I'm an Intel user, so my experience with the Athlon leaves something to be desired, but I hear that Athlon CPUs need lots and lots of ventilation. It might be a good idea to make sure you've got plenty of that anyway-- for example the ribbon IDE cables might not be advisable in this instance. If you've got a spare slot in the back of your computer for one of those suction fans Antec sells for $15, think about venting there too.

Quote:

fyi, i have already dled the driver updates from motus site to use with XP.  i have 98 2nd edition, most of which i have found solutions for.  or Win 2k we could load if these are better, but i m very comfortable with xp and its possible Probs, as i am with 98, my partner uses 2000.


My own experience is that XP tends to be a little more nimble than 2000, and equally as stable. Then again I've heard other people swear that XP never worked for them and they swore by 2K.
You do not want to go back to 98SE for audio-- the WME drivers as implemented in SE are just not stable enough.
http://home.no.net/nightguy/images/TEAM-GALACTIC.gif

Offline natpub

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
Re: new CPU
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2004, 01:28:09 am »
One addition to the above. My understanding is that Sonar 3.0 is such a significant improvement as to make it very undesirable to get any lower edition.


KT
Kurt Thompson
Vibrational Arts, Inc.
Blue Skyway Music
Sonic Sorcery Studios
Austin,TX/Columbus,OH

Offline Timmahh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new CPU
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2004, 11:45:42 pm »
ok, I have z puter together,  it working fine, have everything loaded, pci 324 card, and all is good.... put on Samp...will start recording after the next 2 gigs... will let you all know how its going
I had to do it cuz I'm Just like that!!!!!
Timmahh!!!

Offline natpub

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
Re: new CPU
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2004, 04:04:54 am »
Timmahh!!!

LMAO, one recent episode of SP had Jimmy using steroids in the special olympics, and Timmmy was trying to tattle to Mr. Mackie! It was absolutely hilarious, since of course, all Timmy can say is Timmahh!!!

--K
Kurt Thompson
Vibrational Arts, Inc.
Blue Skyway Music
Sonic Sorcery Studios
Austin,TX/Columbus,OH

Offline Timmahh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new CPU
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2004, 12:10:02 am »
AHH MAN< you just reminded me why I DISPISE CHARTER CABLE>   i havent been able to watch SP since i cancelled my dish n went back to FRICKING CABLE>.. GOD CHARTER CABLE SUCKS DONKEY D*CKS.
I WANT MY SP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
dun da dunda dunt!!!!!!!!
TIMMAHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I had to do it cuz I'm Just like that!!!!!
Timmahh!!!