R/E/P Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: another horrible tom-tom club...  (Read 5915 times)

.nathan.kosakowski.

another horrible tom-tom club...
« on: December 06, 2005, 02:57:55 PM »

right, i know about jj's tom mic shootout thingy.  but...

i've ran though a studio the other day that had pretty much the entire kit mic'd close with km84's.  this was rock music i think. thing was they seemed practically aimed straight down at the skin.  prependicular, fairly on the outside, about an inch up.

hi, mid, lo toms, snare, overheads... all km84.  anyway, my available SDCs are a pair of microtech gefell M200's, a pair of the utilitarianly unpricey studio project c4's, neumann kms105, some octava i've had since i was a freshman in highschool.

i tried this technique with the c4's, omni and cardiod (omni was better, not proximity'd to the moon).  just for most part it sucked.  sure, isolated, but lots of boing, not so much kung-pao.

i'm utlimately in search of a clear tom sound, but it always seems to stick out from the mix horribly.  but thats prolly my mixing problem.  but get it right from the source as best you can, right?

i'm all about huge drums, lots of room, etc.  but everytime i get the toms loudenough to suit a tom heavy drum groove, they don't play along.  usually using ev n/d468's, position them anyware, lots of attack, or even sm57s on the racks (they are pretty small toms, 12 & 13 i think)

hmm, i suppose i could live with bigger toms, but thats the studio set and thats what i got.
Nathan Kosakowski
Ellae Center Recording
www.ellaecenter.com

J.J. Blair

Re: another horrible tom-tom club...
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 03:20:06 PM »